In the wake of the Russian plane crash in which all 224 passengers and crew on board were killed, tourists are being warned of the countries that have been designated unsafe to travel to by Western governments.

The map below, created by Statista, shows the 18 countries the UK’s Foreign Office advises British travellers should avoid.

South Sudan which has been embroiled in war since December 2013 has been listed one of the most dangerous countries for tourists to visit. The country holds huge potential in tourism which could boast the economy if there is peace.

The threat of Isis also contributes to some travel warnings. The current advice for Syria is that any Britons currently in the war-torn country “should leave now by any practical means” because the UK Foreign Office would be unable to provide any consular services.

The map also shows 45 counties deemed partly dangerous due to unrest in certain regions. Included in this is the area of north Sinai in Egypt, where the Russian commercial A321 plane crashed last week.

There is now believed to be a significant possibility that the crash was due to a bomb planted on board.

Parts of Russia are also deemed dangerous by the UK government, including the region close to the border with Ukraine and the area of Chechnya. Areas close to the border with Georgia and Azerbaijan are also warned against.

tourist maps

The full list of countries which the UK’s Foreign Office advises British people traveling to: Afghanistan, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Guinea, Iraq, Libya, Mauritania, Niger, Palestinian territories, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Somaliland, South Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Yemen.

Countries which the UK Foreign Office advises against traveling to parts of: Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Burkina Faso, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Cameroon, Colombia, Djibouti, Ecuador, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Georgia, Haiti, India, Iran, Israel, Ivory Coast, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Lebanon, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mali, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Republic of Congo, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, Venezuela, Western Sahara.

Read the original article on The Independent. Copyright 2015. Follow The Independent on Twitter.