The government and the opposition groups have signed the peace agreement on power-sharing and security arrangement in Khartoum on Sunday, ending more than four years of conflict in the country.

President Salva Kiir signed the agreement on behalf of the government, Dr. Riek Machar on behalf of SPLM-IO  and Deng Alor signed for FD among others.

Also, both Presidents of Uganda and Sudan signed the agreement as guarantors.

According to Sudanese Foreign Affairs Minister, who is the chief mediator all parties including those who refused, have signed the agreement.

“All the parties have agreed to sign,” he said.

The signing ceremony was witnessed by Presidents of Kenya, Uganda, Somali, Djibouti and Deputy Prime Minister of Ethiopia and representatives of UN, EU, and AU among others.

Michael Makuei, the government spokesperson also confirmed that all the parties signed the agreement.

“All parties have signed and they are now significant,”he said.

Meanwhile, Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta said the peace process will continue in the Sudanese capital, Khartoum, instead of Nairobi as decided by IGAD head of states.

President Kenyatta announced this while addressing the signing ceremony of the peace in Khartoum on Sunday.

“We have agreed with my brother President Bashir that let us continue with this negotiations right here in Khartoum,” he said.

via Eye Radio