President Salva Kiir has appointed Nyandeng Garang to head a five-member committee chaired by to spearhead the reorganization of the SPLM Political Bureau, the party’s highest political organ in South Sudan.

Nyandeng will be deputized by Jemma Nunu Kumba, who shall act as the Secretary.

Kiir also appointed Taban Deng Gai, Paul Mayom Akech, and John Luk Jok as members of the committee.

The team is expected to develop criteria and details for the expansion of the political bureau, and where possible establish a secretariat to speed up their work.

They are expected to submit their recommendations to Kiir within 21 days.