Kenya’s National transport and safety authority (NTSA) has banned South Sudan number plates on Kenyan In a memo dated November 7, 2017 from NTSA Operations Manager, Bora Guyo, the transport authority has banned number plate series CE, EE, SSJS, UNS, WS and NBGS.

Since 2005, South Sudan has had varied registration codes for its ten states until March 2017 when the government introduced a nationalized country code SSD series.

The rise of such foreign registered vehicles at border towns and across the country has been attributed to higher taxation and age limits on car imports in Kenya. Taxes in Kenya include 25 per cent (duty), 20 per cent (excise duty) and 16 (VAT). Importers equally have to pay 2.25 per cent (Import declaration fee) motor vehicles registration fee and Railway Development Levy. This coupled with a limit for cars manufactured in the last eight years has made units cleared at the port of Mombasa more expensive than in neighboring countries.

NTSA plans to impound all vehicles having the nullified South Sudan registration series.
Source: standard media