Politician Agel Ring Machar has come out publicly to strongly criticised the possible expansion of SPLM political bureau, which he says doesn’t include any member from his native Twic county.

In a social media post directed to his county’s comrades, the vocal SPLM member says it is unfair to have other counties of Warrap State represented in the Political Bureau, and his native Twic left out.

“With the recently added member, Cde Tor Deng Mawein, Warrap State is now proudly represented in the SPLM Political Bureau by the following 4 names: 1. Cde Salva Kiir Mayardit – Chairman – Gogrial West County – 2008 Convention 2. Cde Nhial Deng Nhial – Member – Tonj South County – 2008 Convention 3. Cde Awut Deng Achuil – Member – Tonj North County – 2008 Convention 4. Cde Tor Deng Mawein – Member – Gogrial West County (Newly added member) – 2022 Expansion,” he explains.

While re-assuring South Sudanese communities to survive under the prevailing political dispensation, characterized by the ever-weakening institutions of the political party system, among many other shortcomings, Agel urged them to get organized and united.

“Failure to get organized is to continue to be antagonized and marginalized, politically, socially, and economically,” he concluded.

Twic County in Warrap State is the home county of the late Kerubino Kuanyin, a founding member of SPLM/SPLA. Kerubino, a fierce army commander, is regarded as the person who shot the first bullet that kicked off the SPLM/SPLA liberation struggle of South Sudan.

There is an ongoing SPLM National Liberation Council (NLC) ordinary sitting which kicked off on 30th November and will end on Friday, 2nd December 2022.  The closed-door meeting is chaired by the party’s chairman, President Salva Kiir Mayardit. Though the meeting’s resolutions are yet to be made public, sources have claimed that the party has expanded its political bureau. Social media users have started circulating unconfirmed list of the SPLM Politburo members.

SPLM Political Bureau is the party’s highest decision-making body. The politburo initially had 19 members, but the party will reportedly expanded it to 35 in line with its Arusha Amended Constitution of 2016. The move is meant to accommodate new allies, replace dead members and members who have left the party and established their own political parties like FVP Riek Machar and Former Secretary General Pagan Amum.